Connecticut bounce house insurance: what the private residential exemption covers

Checked October 2026

Connecticut's Department of Consumer Protection defines amusement to exclude an inflatable device leased for private residential use, so a backyard rental falls outside the licensing law. Rides at carnivals and other public amusements need a DCP license ($200 per event, applied for 10 days ahead), a ride listing with DCP, inspection scheduled by the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection, and proof of financial responsibility. The amount for inflatables is not stated on the agency page.

One sentence decides most of Connecticut's bounce house law, and it is a subtraction. The Department of Consumer Protection's amusements page defines "amusement" and then says it "does not include an inflatable device leased for private residential use."

So the first job is sorting which of your rentals are leased for private residential use. Drop-offs to a family's yard are the clear case, and the rest take reading. We read DCP's pages and the state parks page on 2026-10-01. The statute came from an archived copy, explained below. Our state table lists Connecticut as partly regulated.

What the definition covers

The statute behind the page is Conn. Gen. Stat. section 29-133. It defines an amusement as a circus or carnival presented in the open, including a place where one or more rides or devices "capable of accommodating one or more passengers" and normally needing an operator's supervision are presented for amusement. A portable show under a tent or other shelter for 100 or more people counts too.

The same section defines a carnival as a transient enterprise offering portable mechanical rides or devices for public amusement, "excluding any enterprise that offers the lease of inflatable devices for private residential use." A rental company that only leases to homes is not a carnival in the law's own words.

Nothing on the pages we read settles the middle cases: a church fall festival, a school fundraiser, a town park field day, an HOA pool party with a hired slide. They are public or semi-public, and the unit was leased to an organization, not to a household. How DCP treats organization-leased units is a question for its licensing staff, and the answer belongs in your files. So does the lease itself. The exemption follows the lease and not the unit, so a rental agreement that states where the unit is going and who it is leased to is the record that shows which side of the line each job was on. The rental agreement guide covers the contract.

What an event triggers

For the covered side of the line, DCP's page asks for:

  • A carnival or circus application with a $200 fee for each event, filed at least 10 days before the event.
  • Listing every ride in active use with DCP for inspection. The ride listing page says a ride is listed once, before its first inspection, and the operator submits a current engineering report each year. Both are done in the state's eLicense system.
  • Inspection scheduled and conducted by the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection, not DCP.
  • A completed Proof of Financial Responsibility Form from the Connecticut Insurance Department with the application, or a current one already on file for the year.

The statute calls the $200 an annual license fee paid with each application (section 29-134) and section 29-135 requires application "not less than ten days" before exhibiting. DCP's page says the $200 is "for each event." If you run six public events in a season, ask whether that is $200 or $1,200.

The ride listing page speaks of rides at an "amusement park or a carnival." It doesn't say what happens to a single inflatable rented to a festival committee, or what the engineering report has to contain for an inflatable.

The statute's inspection rule, and its mechanical wording

Section 29-132 requires all amusement rides and devices in the state to be inspected at least once each calendar year by an inspector or civil engineer approved by the commissioner and certified by a nationally recognized trade or professional association. The owner, lessee or operator pays that inspector a reasonable fee set by the commissioner.

The regulation behind it is Sec. 29-136-5a. It applies to "mechanical amusement rides and devices" and calls for inspection in a disassembled configuration, under a 1992 edition of ASTM standards. A blower-inflated castle is not obviously a mechanical device in that sense, and the pages don't say how DESPP treats one. The private-residential exclusion sits in the definitions for sections 29-134 to 29-143b, and section 29-132 is outside that range, so the pages we read don't settle whether this inspection sentence reaches a unit leased to a home. A fresh email to DESPP pays for itself here.

Financial responsibility: what the agency page doesn't say

DCP's page requires the form and states no dollar amount. The statute does. Section 29-139 sets the minimum for mechanical rides or devices "capable of accommodating three or more persons" at $1,000,000 per accident for bodily injury and property damage, and $500,000 per accident for a waterslide ride or device. With no tent, the statute's table sets $1,000,000 combined liability per accident. The Insurance Commissioner decides the "character and form" of the proof.

Whether a bounce house is a mechanical ride for that sentence is the same open question as above. Our table lists the amount as not stated on the agency page, and the statute gives a $1,000,000 number we can't tie to inflatables. The Insurance Department's contact on DCP's page is cid.pc@ct.gov, (860) 297-3841.

For event work, put one question to your agent: can a single certificate satisfy the Insurance Department's form and a venue's additional insured wording at once? The additional insured guide walks through that, and the coverage page covers the policy itself.

Our copy of the statute is the Internet Archive's capture of May 19, 2026, because the legislature's server did not answer from our location when we tried again on 2026-10-01. It carries a note that the 2026 supplement may hold later amendments.

If someone is hurt

Under section 29-136, a serious physical injury or death in connection with an amusement ride or device must be reported to the commissioner within four hours. The ride may not be operated, altered or removed from the location for 72 hours after the report is received unless the commissioner allows it. Violations of sections 29-129 to 29-140 carry a fine of up to $500, up to six months in jail, or both under section 29-142.

Four hours is a short clock for an owner who isn't at the party. Tennessee, by comparison, asks for a written report within 24 hours.

Connecticut state parks say no

We read no town park rules, so the state parks are the one venue rule we can quote. Connecticut's Department of Energy and Environmental Protection lists the rules for picnic shelter rentals in state parks, and a customer who asks you to deliver to a state park pavilion gets a no regardless of what your policy says. The rule is one blunt line: "Inflatable slides and bounce houses are not permitted."